Stroke Advisory Council

The Stroke Advisory Council is comprised of members appointed by the Justus-Warren Heart Disease and Stroke Prevention Task Force. The enabling legislation prescribes categories of members to be appointed.

  • Chair
    Peg O’Connell, Senior Policy Advisor, Fuquay Solutions; American Heart Association
  • Vice Chair
    Charles Tegeler, Chair, Neurology, Wake Forest Baptist Health
  • Executive Director, Justus-Warren Heart Disease and Stroke Prevention Task Force Anna Bess Brown


  • Andrew Asimos, Director, Carolinas Stroke Network, Atrium Health
  • Wally Ainsworth, NC Office of Emergency Medical Services
  • Cheryl Bushnell, Director, Wake Forest Baptist Health Comprehensive Stroke Center
  • Arnett Coleman, Physician, Old North State Medical Society
  • Ronald Cromartie, Consultant, Hospital Certification
  • Eric Deshaies, Novant Health, NC Healthcare Association
  • Pamela Duncan, Neurology Professor, Wake Forest School of Medicine
  • Ben Gill, Stroke Survivor
  • Carmen Graffagnino, Director, Duke Comprehensive Stroke Center
  • David Huang, Director, UNC Comprehensive Stroke Center
  • Robin Jones, Hospital Stroke Coordinator, Mission Health
  • Edward Jauch, Chief of System Research, Mission Health
  • Hervy Kornegay, NC Association of Rescue and Emergency Medical Services
  • Jacqueline Rollins-Wynn, NC Area Health Education Centers
  • Wayne Rosamond, Epidemiologist, UNC Gillings School of Global Public Health