The Justus-Warren Heart Disease and Stroke Prevention Task Force is comprised of 27 members. The Governor and the General Assembly, with recommendations from the Speaker of the House of Representatives and President Pro Tempore of the Senate, appoint 24 of the 27 members as outlined in the enabling legislation:

  • Six legislators (three each recommended by the Speaker of the House and President Pro Tem of the Senate)
  • Health professionals
  • Survivors
  • Members of volunteer and governmental organizations
  • One business leader
  • One news director

The remaining three appointees are leaders within the North Carolina Department of Health and Human Services (DHHS). These appointees are the designees of the following DHHS entities: Secretary of the Department of Health and Human Services, the Division of Aging and Adult Services and NC Medicaid.

Justus-Warren Heart Disease and Stroke Prevention Task Force

Executive Director
Anna Bess Brown


  • Stephanie Dorko Austin, Advocate for Affected Family Member
  • Barbara G. Beatty, Catawba County Commissioner
  • Adrienne Calhoun, NC Association of Area Agencies on Aging
  • Kat Combs, Triangle YMCA; Eat Smart, Move More NC
  • Beth Daniel, NC Medicaid
  • Yolanda Dickerson, Volunteer, American Heart Association
  • Basheera Enahora, Cooperative Extension, NC State University
  • Lindsey Haynes-Maslow, Heart Event Survivor
  • Ashley Honeycutt, Licensed Dietician, UNC Rex
  • David Huang, Director, UNC Comprehensive Stroke Center
  • Representative Frank Iler, NC House, Brunswick County
  • Senator Steve Jarvis, NC Senate, Davidson and Montgomery Counties
  • Leatrice Martin, Duke Clinical and Translational Science Institute
  • Margaret Murchison, Media News Director
  • Ruth Phillips, Director, Community Health Coalition
  • Joey Propst, Stroke Survivor
  • Representative Timothy Reeder, NC House, Pitt County
  • Eugene Reynolds, Family Practice Physician, Gastonia
  • Senator Benton Sawrey, NC Senate, Johnson County
  • Douglas Schiller, Medical Director, Cardiac ICU, ECU Vidant Medical Center
  • Ryan Swanson, Pharmacist, Blue Cross Blue Shield NC
  • Julie Sundermann, DHHS Division of Aging and Adult Services
  • Amanda L. Wilson, Registered Nurse

Stroke prevention promotional materials available – Click Here